As an assignment for my Identity Design class I have been asked to keep a blog as a way of allowing my viewers a glimpse into my beliefs on certain subjects. This week I have been posed the question, "What is a professional?" To help answer this question, my professor provided the class with Design Professionalism.
     Written by Andy Rutledge, it provided me with an informational and philosophical source from which I could draw my conclusions. This is not the only source I am using, but it is a very concise and well thought out publication. You may disagree with Mr. Rutledge, as well as myself at times. I make no apology.

     Now, on to the subject at hand.

     I suppose it would be prudent to first define profession. Some synonyms that come to mind are calling, employment, and occupation. These words denote what one does to earn money, but I believe that a profession is much more than a way to earn money. It is interesting to note that the word originates from the Middle English and means - the taking of the vows of a religious order. This suggests that there is something sacred, something serious, or something special taking place in a profession.

     Mr. Rutledge expands on this by listing some ten characteristics of a profession and what sets one apart from just a trade or job.
RESPONSIBILITY

ACCOUNTABILITY

BASED ON SPECIALIZED, THEORETICAL KNOWLEDGE

INSTITUTIONAL PREPARATION

AUTONOMY
CLIENTS RATHER THAN CUSTOMERS

DIRECT WORKING RELATIONSHIPS

ETHICAL CONSTRAINTS

MERIT-BASED

CAPITALIST MORALITY
     From this list of qualifications as well as the origin of the word profession, I can deduce that to be a professional means that I need to have a moral core as well as core values. What is it that I stand for? What is acceptable and what is not?  There has to be a right and a wrong. If I as a professional am consistent with my values, I then gain professional integrity. There is a standard that I set for myself and if I am to be respected, I should not deviate from that.

     This does not mean that I do not have an open mind.

     "Open Mindedness" is an often misused phase when associated with professionalism.
It should be understood that having an open mind is a passive/potential factor, not an actionable one and has nothing to do with evaluations and decisions. Instead, open-mindedness is the healthy idea that there remains the possibility one does not possess all the information. An open-minded person is ever willing to become better informed and learn more about something, and then allow that new information (filtered by moral, qualitative discrimination) to impact decisions. In the face of whatever information is at hand, however, every decision, evaluation, and requirement must flow from the designer's core values. Without such a basis, his every action and decision will lack credibility and must be regarded with suspicion.
     I believe that a professional must be free to hold fast and operate according to his or her own inviolate principles of a moral foundation. There are many common definitions of professionalism that reference codes of ethical behavior. I also believe that only those with integrity can truly be called professional.

     Such codes of ethical behavior can be found in the AIGI Standards of Professional Practice, as an example. I prefer the Code of Professional Conduct myself, and support it completely.

     In short, I suppose I could define a professional as:
Behaving in an ethical manner while assuming and fulfilling your rightful responsibilities in every situation every time, without fail. It means, in part, conducting your affairs in such a way as to engender trust and confidence in every aspect of your work. It means having the requisite ability to be worthy of the confidence others place in you. It means having already made the right choices so that you attract the right sort of client and work under good circumstances rather than having to continually make the best of bad circumstances and take whatever is tossed your way, regardless of its quality.
     I also believe that a professional doesn't shy away from responsibility. If a professional makes a mistake then he or she doesn't try to blame somebody else, but acknowledges the fault and takes action to make any repairs necessary.
    
     Professionalism is something that should be  perceived by those around me. I conduct myself in such a way that my clients are reassured and trust in me. As a professional, I inspire confidence in those I work with. I do not allow choices to be made for me, but I have influence in how my projects are set up.



Leave a Reply.